The Whakatipu Wilding Control Group is in a dynamic partnership with key stakeholders; Queenstown Lakes District Council (QLDC), Department of Conservation (DOC), Otago Regional Council (ORC) and Land Information NZ (LINZ).

WCG has relationships with the Ministry of Primary Industries (MPI) – Biosecurity NZ, Wilding Pine Network, other Whakatipu Conservation Groups, Landowners and Managers with enthusiastic and concerned community and business support, all coming together to control the rampant wilding conifer spread. Our purpose is to coordinate funding, lead the strategic direction, oversee the extensive operational plan which employs contractors and to coordinate community education and volunteer work, all with clear governance from our highly experienced volunteer executive members.


Department of Conservation
Otago Regional Council

Key Partners

Prevent the Spread
Wilding Pine Network

Image credits and thanks to the National Wilding Conifer Control Programme led by Biosecurity New Zealand

Additional Supporters

Skyline Logo
QEII National Trust
Todd & Walker Law

Landowner Supporters

NZTA • Cecil Peak Station • Walter Peak Station • Mt Nicholas Station • Closeburn Station • Elfin Bay Station • Ben Lomond Station • Queenstown Hill Station • Coronet Peak Station • Branches Station • Waitiri Station • Eastburn Station • Halfway Bay Station • Mt Difficulty Station • Remarkables Station • Loch Linnhe Station • Cone Peak Station • Lowburn Station • Pioneer Energy • Scope Enterprises • Soho Property Ltd

Our sincere thanks also goes to every Whakatipu landowner supporting the programme. Every wilding tree removed counts.

Conservation Group

Whakatipu Wildlife Trust • QEII National Trust • Whakatipu Reforestation Trust • Routeburn Dart Wildlife Trust • Arrowtown Wilding Group / Arrowtown Choppers • Queenstown Trails Trust • Otago Fish & Game • Southland Fish & Game • Southern Lakes Sanctuary